Turning ideas into results
LinkedInTwitter

Services
to Businesses

 

1. Improving competitiveness of businesses

SOVAR provides advice to companies in search of expertise and technologies needed to increase their competitive advantage. SOVAR guarantees that all information exchanged is kept confidential and that intellectual property is protected.

SOVAR’s knowledge of available research capabilities within its network of partners helps companies identify university expertise or technologies in response to their innovation requirements. Furthermore, SOVAR collaborates with several organizations of the Québec technology development community that possess know-how and expertise that may be helpful to companies. In short, SOVAR is geared to successfully guide companies toward expertise and technologies that suit their innovation needs.

2. Interacting with university-based R&D groups

In the context of increasing international competition, high-tech companies need university-based research expertise and technologies in order to innovate. SOVAR facilitates university/industry interaction.

SOVAR’s experience in managing proof of concept projects helps businesses elaborate innovation strategies through university/industry partnerships. SOVAR also assists in the follow-up and management of such projects by ensuring that researchers remain focussed on the commercial outcome of the process. In this regard, SOVAR provides:

  • project definition and launch;
  • monitoring and follow-up;
  • realignment when required; and
  • financing or refinancing (start-up).

 

3. Facilitating technology transfer to businesses

SOVAR plays a role in ensuring that conditions of a technology transfer from university to an existing company are negotiated in a mutually beneficial manner.

In many cases, it is more appropriate to transfer a market-ready technology to an existing company than to create a start-up. SOVAR’s knowledge of the expectations and interests of businesses and of institutional partners helps in identifying the most appropriate technology transfer model (licencing agreement or transfer of expertise as well as their conterparts, e.g. royalties, shares, future funding of research programs).

4. Creating and organizing start-up companies

In cases where a start-up company is created, SOVAR supports the new organization from the start, providing it with an efficient structure and an experienced management team.

SOVAR’s preferred approach, also shared by investors, is to recruit an experienced management team during the pre-commercialization phase. This has the advantage of providing the fledgling company, at its inception, the skills and experience necessary to accelerate its growth and to make productive strategic decisions. Through this approach SOVAR facilitates:

  • the spin-off’s transition from the R&D phase to the pre-commercialization phase;
  • the identification and recruitment of an experienced management team; and
  • the identification of financing or refinancing sources.

Transformer l'idée en réalisations
LinkedInTwitter

Services
aux entreprises

 

1. Améliorer la position concurrentielle des entreprises

SOVAR est en mesure de conseiller efficacement les entreprises à la recherche d’expertises et de technologies universitaires pouvant leur apporter un avantage concurrentiel. SOVAR garantit à l’entreprise une démarche menée avec rigueur afin de préserver la confidentialité des renseignements échangés, ainsi que la propriété intellectuelle.

Par sa connaissance des compétences de recherche disponibles au sein de son réseau de partenaires, SOVAR aide les entreprises à repérer des expertises ou des technologies universitaires pouvant répondre à leurs besoins d’innovation. De plus, SOVAR collabore avec plusieurs acteurs du développement technologique au Québec qui disposent aussi de compétences et d’expertises qui peuvent être mises à contribution. SOVAR peut donc diriger adéquatement les entreprises vers des expertises et des technologies répondant spécifiquement à leurs besoins d’innovation.

2. Interagir avec le milieu universitaire en R&D

Face à une concurrence mondiale croissante, il est essentiel pour les entreprises technologiques de faire appel à l’expertise de recherche universitaire en matière d’innovation. SOVAR peut faciliter cette collaboration.

La recherche au sein des universités et des divers centres de recherche au Québec est source d’expertises et de nouvelles technologies pouvant avantager les entreprises sur le plan concurrentiel. SOVAR est en mesure de faciliter l’interaction entre le milieu universitaire et les entreprises.

L’expérience de SOVAR dans la gestion de projets de démonstration de technologies peut être mise à contribution pour aider les entreprises à élaborer leur stratégie d’innovation par le biais de partenariats universités/industries. SOVAR peut aussi contribuer au suivi et à la gestion de tels projets en s’assurant que les chercheurs gardent le cap sur la finalité commerciale de la démarche. À ce titre, SOVAR peut prendre en charge :

  • la mise en route du projet ;
  • le suivi de l’avancement ;
  • l’ajustement de parcours ;
  • le refinancement (démarrage).

 

3. Faciliter le transfert de technologies aux entreprises

SOVAR contribue à la négociation harmonieuse des conditions de transfert d’une technologie universitaire à une entreprise existante.

Dans plusieurs cas, il peut s’avérer plus approprié de transférer une technologie valorisée à une entreprise existante, plutôt que de créer une entreprise nouvelle. Par sa connaissance des attentes et des intérêts des entreprises et des partenaires institutionnels, SOVAR agit à titre de conseiller pour identifier le modèle de transfert le plus approprié (que ce soit pour un octroi de licence ou pour un transfert d’expertise) et la nature des contreparties (redevance, capital-actions, financement ultérieur de programmes de recherche, etc.).

4. Créer et organiser une entreprise dérivée

Dans le cas de la création d’entreprises dérivées, SOVAR accompagne l’organisation dans ses premiers pas afin de la doter, dès le départ, d’une structure efficace et d’une équipe de management d’expérience.

La formule généralement privilégiée par SOVAR et les investisseurs liés au projet est le recrutement d’une équipe de management expérimentée dès l’étape précommerciale. Cette approche permet de procurer à l’entreprise toutes les compétences et l’expérience pour la propulser vers une croissance rapide. SOVAR facilite ainsi :

  • le passage de l’entreprise dérivée du stade R&D à l’étape précommerciale ;
  • l’identification et le recrutement d’une équipe de management expérimentée ;
  • l’identification des sources de financement ou de refinancement.