Turning ideas into results
April 29, 2013

PREVENT signs an exclusive licensing agreement with Folia Biotech for the rights to use its proprietary PAL adjuvant technology to develop a vaccine against seasonal flu.

On April 10th, the Pan-Provincial Vaccine Enterprise Inc. (PREVENT), a Canadian Centre of Excellence for Commercialization and Research (CECR) based at the University of Saskatchewan, announced it had signed an agreement that will accelerate the clinical development of Folia Biotech’s innovative adjuvant.

The PAL adjuvant system designed to enhance the immune response will be of considerable importance to people receiving a flu vaccine.

It is worth recalling that SOVAR had previously contributed $332,406 to support the development of one of Folia Biotech’s technologies.

For additional information, please read thepress release

About Folia Biotech
FOLIA BIOTECH is a biotechnology company founded by Dr. Denis Leclerc, a researcher at the Infectious Disease Research Centre (CRI) in Quebec City. The PAL technology that emerged from Dr. Leclerc’s work is based on the use of the recombinant protein of a plant virus (the papaya mosaic virus) as an adjuvant to enhance the immune response directed against the antigen or antigens within the vaccine. The PAL technology also constitutes a versatile vaccination platform enabling the development of innovative vaccines against any infectious disease. www.foliabiotech.com

The Pan-Provincial Vaccine Enterprise Inc. (PREVENT) is a not-for-profit organization incorporated as a commercial company whose mandate is to accelerate the development of promising vaccine candidates to meet existing or potential challenges to public health in Canada. The founding partners of PREVENT include the Vaccine and Infectious Disease Organization and International Vaccine Centre (VIDO-InterVac), the British Columbia Centre for Disease Control (BCCDC) and the Canadian Centre for Vaccinology (CCfV). By partnering with Canadian experts and shouldering the risk associated with the early stages of vaccine development, PREVENT strengthens the Canadian vaccine industry and fosters its growth, investments and international competitiveness.

Transformer l'idée en réalisations
LinkedInTwitter
29 Avril 2013

PREVENT signe une licence exclusive avec Folia Biotech pour les droits d’utilisation de sa technologie innovatrice d’adjuvant PAL dans le développement d’un vaccin pour prévenir la grippe saisonnière.

Le 10 avril dernier, le Pan-Provincial Vaccine Enterprise Inc. (PREVENT), un Centre d’Excellence pour la Commercialisation et la Recherche (CECR) canadien dont le siège social est situé à l’Université de la Saskatchewan, annonçait la signature d’une entente qui permettra d’accélérer le développement clinique de l’adjuvant innovateur de Folia Biotech.

Le système d’adjuvant PAL destiné à accroître la réponse immunitaire sera d’une importance considérable pour les personnes recevant un vaccin contre la grippe.

Rappelons que SOVAR a contribué antérieurement au développement d’une des technologies de Folia Biotech par un financement de 332 406 $

Pour toute information additionnelle, voir lecommuniqué_de_presse.

À propos de Folia Biotech

FOLIA BIOTECH est une société de biotechnologie fondée par le Dr Denis Leclerc, chercheur au Centre de recherche en infectiologie (CRI) de Québec. La technologie PAL issue des travaux du Dr Leclerc est basée sur l’utilisation d’une protéine recombinante d’un virus végétal (virus de la mosaïque de la papaye) comme adjuvant afin d’augmenter la réponse immunitaire dirigée contre l’antigène ou les antigènes composant le vaccin. La technologie PAL est également une plateforme de vaccination versatile permettant le développement de vaccins innovateurs envers n’importe quelle maladie infectieuse.

www.foliabiotech.com

À propos de PREVENT

Le Pan-Provincial Vaccine Enterprise Inc. (PREVENT) est une organisation à but non lucratif constituée en société commerciale, dont le mandat est d’accélérer le développement de vaccins-candidats prometteurs pour relever les défis de santé publique canadiens existants ou potentiels. Les membres fondateurs de PREVENT comprennent : Vaccine and Infectious Disease Organization-International Vaccine Centre (VIDO-InterVac), British Columbia Centre for Disease Control (BCCDC) et Canadian Center for Vaccinology (CCfV). En s’associant avec des experts canadiens et en assumant le risque associé aux premières étapes du développement d’un vaccin, PREVENT solidifie l’industrie canadienne du vaccin, en favorise la croissance, ses investissements et sa compétitivité à l’échelle mondiale.