Turning ideas into results
LinkedInTwitter
May 6, 2015

PROFESSOR DUYGU KOCAEFE AWARDED I2I FUNDING

SOVAR is pleased to announce that Professor Duygu Kocaefe of the Department of Applied Sciences, at the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi (UQAC) has received a $124,850 grant from NSERC’s Idea to Innovation (I2I) Program.

The funding will allow her to continue the development of a technology that determines the distribution of electrical resistivities in anodes used in the production of aluminium. The project aims at providing precise information on anode homogeneity and on the presence of cracking.

Aluminium production consumes carbon anodes that must be replaced after 20 to 25 days of operation. A significant problem arises when anodes are cracked as this leads to an increased  electrical resistivity with a subsequent increase in energy costs. Major cracks may cause even greater problems in electrolytic cells, which can result in a significant loss in productivity. Overconsumption of anodes brought on by their low quality has a huge impact on energy consumption as well as on the production of greenhouse gases from aluminium plants. When completed, the project is expected to lead to the production and use of better quality anodes.

Transformer l'idée en réalisations
LinkedInTwitter
6 Mai 2015

Obtention d’un financement du programme INNOV pour la professeure Duygu Kocaefe

SOVAR est fière d’annoncer l’obtention d’un financement de 124 850$ du CRSNG dans le cadre du programme « De l’idée à l’Innovation » (INNOV) de phase I par la professeure Duygu Kocaefe, du Département des sciences appliquées de l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi (UQAC).

Ce financement servira à poursuivre le développement d’une technologie qui permet de déterminer la distribution des résistivités électriques dans des anodes utilisées pour la production de l’aluminium. Le but est de fournir une information précise sur l’homogénéité de celles-ci et la présence de fissures.

La production d’aluminium consomme des anodes de carbone qui doivent être renouvelées après 20 à 25 jours d’opération. Une problématique significative est l’utilisation d’anodes dans lesquelles la présence de fissures augmente la résistivité électrique et donc les coûts énergétiques. Les fissures importantes peuvent de plus causer d’autres problèmes majeurs dans les cuves d’électrolyse et, en conséquence, des pertes de productivité significatives. La surconsommation d’anodes due à leur basse qualité a un impact important sur la consommation énergétique et les émissions des gaz à effet de serre des alumineries. À terme, les travaux devraient mener à la production et à l’utilisation de meilleures anodes.