Turning ideas into results
LinkedInTwitter
October 26, 2016

PROFESSOR FRÉDÉRIC-GEORGES FONTAINE AWARDED FUNDING WORTH $124,900

Québec, October 26, 2016 – SOVAR is proud to announce that Frédéric-Georges Fontaine, a professor-researcher at Université Laval’s Department of Chemistry has been awarded a $124,900 grant from the Idea to Innovation Program (Phase I) of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC). This grant will be used for a pre-commercialization study on a new metal-free catalytic borylation process. SOVAR has been involved in this technology development project for over a year.

It is worth noting that this type of catalyst is easier to produce than the classic ones, costs significantly less and leads to easy purification. Unlike catalysts that include transition metals commonly used in today’s chemical industry, this non-toxic compound provides a considerable advantage in the production of organic molecules especially in the pharmaceutical and agro-chemical fields.

Two provisional patent applications filed in 2015 have resulted from this discovery, which has been published in the prestigious journal Science in July 2015 and has raised considerable media interest because of its enormous commercial potential.

Transformer l'idée en réalisations
LinkedInTwitter
26 Octobre 2016

Le professeur Frédéric-Georges Fontaine obtient un financement de 124 900 $

Québec, le 26 octobre 2016 – C’est avec fierté que SOVAR annonce l’obtention d’un financement de 124 900 $ par le chercheur Frédéric-Georges Fontaine qui est professeur au Département de chimie de l’Université Laval. Obtenu dans le cadre du programme « De l’idée à l’Innovation » (INNOV) de phase I du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG), ce financement servira à réaliser une étude de pré-commercialisation portant sur un nouveau procédé catalytique de borylation sans métal. SOVAR est impliquée dans ce projet en cours de valorisation depuis plus d’un an.

Précisons que ce type de catalyseurs est beaucoup plus facile à produire que ceux classiques, coûte significativement moins cher et permet une purification facile. Les composés utilisés étant non toxiques, contrairement aux catalyseurs comportant des métaux de transition qui sont communément utilisés par l’industrie chimique actuelle, cela peut conférer un avantage considérable pour la production de molécules organiques, notamment dans les domaines pharmaceutiques et agrochimiques.

Cette découverte fait l’objet de deux brevets provisionnels qui ont été déposés en 2015, d’une publication dans la prestigieuse revue Science en juillet 2015 et a fait l’objet d’une couverture importante compte tenu son énorme potentiel commercial.

Les nouvelles
par années

  • 2017
  • 2016
  • 2015
  • 2014
  • 2013
  • 2012
  • 2011
  • 2010