Turning ideas into results
LinkedInTwitter
October 10, 2013

Anges Québec and university technology transfer organizations unite to support the development of technological businesses

Québec, October 10, 2013 – To encourage the development of technological businesses in Québec, the Anges Québec private investors network has entered into a privileged partnership agreement with Valeo Management, MSBi Valorisation, SOVAR and Univalor, technology transfer and commercialization companies derived from university research in Québec. This agreement will favour the sharing of expertise and the pooling of resources and financial and business networks to support innovative seed companies that commercialize technologies derived from university research.

 

Know how to create ties

The partners will jointly organize training and networking activities to create ties between university research, entrepreneurial and investment players. Valeo, MSBiV, SOVAR and Univalor are also invited to present Anges Québec with the most promising technology and business opportunities from their sectors for which financing is required. At the same time, Anges Québec will present these companies the businesses financed by its members that could benefit from their services.

 

Taking care of business

“University research creates numerous untapped business opportunities,” said Jacques Simoneau, President and CEO of Univalor. “This partnership marks the creation of a new task force that aims to establish profitable links between researchers-entrepreneurs and the business community to stimulate the emergence of new technology companies in Quebec.” Anne-Marie Larose, President and CEO of Valeo Management and MSBiV, added: “Anges Québec is an influential group in the startup community in Quebec and we are pleased to establish this partnership that will enable Valeo and MSBiV to optimize their impact with their respective establishments.”

 

As corporate members, the four partner technology transfer companies will have access to activities reserved for members of Anges Québec. Think tank events that allow researchers-entrepreneurs to meet selected members of Anges Québec for advice about their business project will also be held. “Access to a network of experienced business people who can advise the seed technology companies that we support, particularly in preparing investment files, will accelerate the entry of these new businesses on the markets,” said Pierre Pedneau, President and CEO of SOVAR.

 

Valuable expertise

For its part, Anges Québec will benefit from the expertise of university technology transfer organizations to obtain outside opinions relevant to the assessment of certain investment projects, mainly in the technology and life sciences sector. “This partnership with organizations that can demonstrate possible applications and the commercial value of technological innovations will not only allow us to improve the quality of investment files presented to our members, but also to strengthen the links between university research, innovative businesses and investors, which will be profitable for everyone,” said François Gilbert, President and CEO of Anges Québec.

 

 

About Anges Québec

Anges Québec is a network of 130 private investors that identifies, finances and coaches innovative Quebec enterprises with high growth potential. In this capacity, Anges Québec works closely with a number of key Québec organizations interested in the development and growth of technological innovations. So far, Anges Québec members have invested and reinvested in 30 promising businesses in the seed and startup phases. www.angesquec.com

 

About SOVAR

SOVAR is a company devoted to the development and commercialization of new technologies derived from university research and from partnering research centres. SOVAR also responds to the needs of businesses in search of innovation. Its team of seasoned experts works in close collaboration with researchers helping them through the complex process that transforms innovative concepts into concrete and marketable applications. At the same time, it develops partnerships with key players in the innovation system of both Quebec and Canada as well as with potential investors. www.sovar.com

 

About Valeo Management (Valeo)

Valeo is a company whose mission is to commercialize the results of research carried out by its limited partners, namely the Université du Québec à Montréal, the École de technologie supérieure, the Université du Québec à Rimouski, the Université du Québec en Abitibi Témiscamingue, the Université du Québec en Outaouais, the Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières and Concordia University. www.gestionvaleo.com

 

About MSBi Valorisation (MSBiV)

MSBiV provides its academic partners and their affiliates the financial resources and additional expertise to accelerate and facilitate the commercialization of technologies with strong potential. MSBiV’s academic partners include McGill, Sherbrooke and Bishop’s universities and their affiliated hospitals, research centres and technology transfer groups. Through its knowledge of the industry, the scope and quality of its network, MSBiV contributes to efforts already in place to connect discoveries derived from research by universities and private companies. www.msbiv.com

 

 

About Univalor

Univalor is a university technology transfer organization. For over 10 years, Univalor has been commercializing the scientific discoveries and technological innovations of some 2600 researchers from the Université de Montréal and its affiliated health centres, Polytechnique Montréal and HEC Montréal in the fields of pure and applied sciences, engineering, information technology, social sciences, life sciences and human health. By creating ties between the university and the business world, Univalor contributes to making businesses more competitive, generate more revenue from research and, above all, enrich society. www.univalor.ca

Transformer l'idée en réalisations
LinkedInTwitter
10 Octobre 2013

Entente de partenariat privilégié avec Anges Québec pour soutenir le développement d’entreprises technologiques

10 octobre 2013

Québec, 10 octobre 2013 – Afin d’encourager le développement d’entreprises technologiques au Québec, le réseau d’investisseurs privés Anges Québec et les sociétés de valorisation et de transfert des technologies issues de la recherche universitaire du Québec Gestion Valeo, MSBi Valorisation, SOVAR et Univalor ont conclu une entente de partenariat privilégié. Cette entente favorisera le partage des expertises et la mise en commun des ressources et des réseaux financiers et d’affaires afin de soutenir les entreprises innovantes en démarrage qui commercialisent des technologies issues de la recherche universitaire.

Savoir créer des liens
Pour mettre en lien les acteurs de la recherche universitaire, de l’entrepreneuriat et de l’investissement, des activités de formation et de réseautage seront organisées conjointement par les partenaires. Valeo, MSBiV, SOVAR et Univalor sont aussi invitées à présenter à Anges Québec les opportunités technologiques et d’affaires les plus prometteuses de leurs secteurs pour lesquelles du financement est requis. De même, Anges Québec présentera à ces sociétés les entreprises financées par ses membres qui pourraient bénéficier de leurs services.

En faire son affaire
« La recherche universitaire recèle de nombreuses occasions d’affaires encore inexploitées », a souligné Jacques Simoneau, président et directeur général d’Univalor « Ce partenariat marque la création d’une nouvelle force d’intervention visant à établir des liens fructueux entre les chercheurs-entrepreneurs et les milieux d’affaires pour stimuler l’émergence de nouvelles entreprises technologiques au Québec ». Anne-Marie Larose, présidente et directrice générale de Gestion Valeo et MSBiV, a ajouté : « Anges Québec est un groupe influant dans la communauté d’amorçage au Québec et nous sommes heureux d’établir ce partenariat qui permettra à Valeo et MSBiV de maximiser leur impact auprès de leurs établissements respectifs».

À titre de membres corporatifs, les quatre sociétés de valorisation partenaires auront accès à l’ensemble des activités réservées aux membres d’Anges Québec. Des événements de type « think tank » permettant aux chercheurs-entrepreneurs de rencontrer des membres choisis d’Anges Québec pour être conseillés dans leur projet d’affaires sont aussi au programme. « L’accès à un réseau de gens d’affaires expérimentés qui pourront conseiller les entreprises technologiques en démarrage que nous appuyons, notamment dans la préparation des dossiers d’investissement, contribuera sans contredit à accélérer l’entrée de ces nouvelles entreprises dans les marchés », a affirmé Pierre Pedneau, président et directeur général de SOVAR.

Une expertise de valeur
Pour sa part, Anges Québec bénéficiera de l’expertise des sociétés de valorisation universitaires pour obtenir des avis externes pertinents à l’évaluation de certains projets d’investissement, principalement dans le secteur des technologies et des sciences de la vie.
« Ce partenariat avec des sociétés aptes à démontrer les applications possibles et la valeur commerciale d’innovations technologiques permettra non seulement d’affiner la qualité des dossiers d’investissement présentés à nos membres, mais aussi de renforcer les liens entre la recherche universitaire, les entreprises innovantes et les investisseurs, ce qui s’avérera profitable pour tous », a déclaré François Gilbert, président et directeur général d’Anges Québec.

À propos de SOVAR
SOVAR est une société de valorisation qui se consacre au développement de nouvelles technologies issues d’activités de recherche universitaires et provenant de centres de recherche partenaires. Elle répond aussi aux besoins d’entreprises à la recherche d’innovation. L’équipe spécialisée et expérimentée de SOVAR travaille en étroite collaboration avec les chercheurs afin de franchir le passage difficile permettant de transformer une innovation encore au stade conceptuel en une application concrète et commercialisable. Du même souffle, elle développe des partenariats avec des intervenants clés du système d’innovation québécois et canadien, et des liens avec divers groupes d’investisseurs. www.sovar.com

À propos de Gestion Valeo (Valeo)
Valeo est une société dont la mission est de valoriser et de commercialiser les résultats de la recherche effectuée par ses commanditaires, soit l’Université du Québec à Montréal, l’École de technologie supérieure, l’Université du Québec à Rimouski, l’Université du Québec en Abitibi Témiscamingue, l’Université du Québec en Outaouais, l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières et l’Université Concordia. www.gestionvaleo.com

À propos de MSBi Valorisation (MSBiV)
MSBiV fournit à ses partenaires académiques et leurs entités affiliées les ressources financières et l’expertise additionnelle afin d’accélérer et faciliter la commercialisation de technologies à fort potentiel. Les partenaires académiques de MSBiV incluent les universités McGill, Sherbrooke et Bishop ainsi que leurs hôpitaux, centres de recherche et groupes de transfert technologique affiliés. Par sa connaissance de l’industrie, l’étendue et la qualité de son réseau, MSBiV contribue aux efforts déjà en place permettant de relier les découvertes provenant de la recherche universitaire et l’entreprise privée. www.msbiv.com

À propos d’Univalor
Univalor est une société de valorisation de la recherche universitaire. Depuis plus de 10 ans, Univalor s’emploie à commercialiser les découvertes scientifiques et les innovations technologiques issues des travaux de quelque 2600 chercheurs de l’Université de Montréal et ses centres de santé affiliés, de Polytechnique Montréal et de HEC Montréal dans les domaines des sciences pures et appliquées, du génie, des technologies de l’information, des sciences sociales, des sciences de la vie et de la santé humaine. En créant des liens entre l’université et le monde des affaires, Univalor contribue à rendre les entreprises plus compétitives, à générer des revenus pour la recherche, et surtout, à enrichir la société. www.univalor.ca
Pour plus d’information sur le réseau Anges Québec, consultez le www.angesquebec.com