Turning ideas into results
LinkedInTwitter

Approach for technology development and commercialization

SOVAR's five-step approach within the innovation chain

Step 1: Preliminary analysis and evaluation of potential

The first step consists in evaluating the application potential of the proposed new technology. This evaluation is based on five pre-established criteria:

  • Competitive advantage of the proposed new technology
  • Patentability
  • Freedom to operate
  • Technical feasibility
  • Market opportunities for a profitable exploitation

SOVAR performs a thorough validation process and provides researchers with objective feedback on the proposed technology letting them know exactly the real commercial potential of the technology. If this preliminary analysis proves conclusive, an exclusive technology development agreement is concluded between SOVAR, the researchers and their institution.

Preliminary analysis and evaluation of potential

Step 2: Detailed analysis and preparation of development plan

At this stage, the competitive advantage of the proposed technology must be defined. Here SOVAR’s vast experience comes into play to realistically establish content and steps for the development plan. In collaboration with the researchers involved, SOVAR determines:

  • Products and services that must be developed first
  • Steps (go/no go), milestones and timelines required to demonstrate technical and commercial feasibility
  • Necessary resources and their availability
  • Costs and financial requirements
  • Type of funding
  • Possible funding sources

Step 3: Project management and execution

Once funding is secured, the project is launched in collaboration with the research team. By focussing at all times on the commercial outcome of the approach, SOVAR ensures the project is efficiently managed.
Furthermore, as it keeps a watchful eye on the project’s execution, SOVAR maintains contacts with carefully selected industry representatives, investors and venture capitalists so as to ensure a smooth transition towards pre-commercialization of the new technology.

Step 4: Post-development and technology transfer

Once the development project is completed, the new technology, as well as products and services derived from it, must be transferred to a company that will carry out its marketing and commercial deployment to achieve commercial success. This transfer can be carried out different ways:

  • Licencing to an existing company
  • Transfer of expertise to an existing company
  • Creation of a spin-off company

In the event that a spin-off company is created, SOVAR supports the recruitment of an experienced and skilled management team. Conducted in partnership with investors, this accelerates the growth and sustainability of the newly-launched company.

Step 5: Follow-up and leadership transfer

At this stage, when technology development, commercialization and recruitment of business management have been completed. SOVAR ensures a follow-up adapted to each case. This can take the form of follow-up meetings, planning sessions, participation in board meetings (usually as an observer), etc.

Transformer l'idée en réalisations
LinkedInTwitter

Démarche pour la valorisation des technologies

Étape 1 : Analyse préliminaire et évaluation du potentiel

La première étape consiste à évaluer le potentiel d’application de la nouvelle technologie proposée. Cette évaluation sera effectuée sur la base de cinq critères préétablis :

  • Avantages compétitifs de la nouvelle technologie proposée
  • Potentiel de protection de la propriété intellectuelle qui y est associée
  • Liberté d’exploitation de la nouvelle technologie
  • Faisabilité technique
  • Possibilités de marchés permettant une exploitation rentable

Le processus de validation mené par SOVAR est extrêmement rigoureux. Ainsi, le chercheur obtient un avis objectif et sait exactement à quoi s’en tenir quant à la technologie qu’il propose. Si cette analyse préliminaire s’avère concluante, un mandat de valorisation exclusif est conclu entre SOVAR, les chercheurs et l’institution de rattachement des chercheurs.

Étape 2 : Analyse détaillée et montage du plan de valorisation

À ce stade, le positionnement concurrentiel de la nouvelle technologie proposée doit être précisé. La vaste expérience de SOVAR permet également d’établir avec réalisme les paramètres du plan de valorisation. En collaboration avec les chercheurs, SOVAR définit :

  • les produits et services qui doivent être mis au point en priorité ;
  • les étapes (go/no go), les jalons et le temps nécessaire pour démontrer la faisabilité technique et commerciale ;
  • les ressources nécessaires et leur disponibilité ;
  • les coûts et besoins financiers ;
  • la nature du financement ;
  • les sources de financement possibles.

 

Étape 3 : Réalisation du projet de valorisation

Sitôt le financement obtenu, le travail est enclenché de concert avec les chercheurs. En gardant constamment le cap sur la finalité commerciale de la démarche, SOVAR s’assure d’une gestion efficace du projet.

De plus, parallèlement au suivi de la réalisation du projet, SOVAR entretient des contacts privilégiés avec des industriels, des investisseurs et des sociétés de capital de risque, de manière à préparer et assurer la transition vers la précommercialisation de la nouvelle technologie.

Étape 4 : Postvalorisation et transfert de la technologie

Une fois le projet de valorisation complété, la nouvelle technologie – ainsi que les produits et services qui en découlent – doit être transférée à une entreprise qui en assurera la mise en marché et l’acheminera vers le succès commercial. Ce transfert peut se faire sous plusieurs formes :

  • Octroi de licence à une entreprise existante
  • Transfert d’expertise à une entreprise existante
  • Création d’une nouvelle entreprise

Dans le cas de la création d’une entreprise, SOVAR favorise le recrutement d’une équipe de management expérimentée et compétente. Menée en partenariat avec les investisseurs, cette approche permet de propulser l’entreprise nouvellement créée vers une croissance rapide.

Étape 5 : Suivi et transfert de leadership

À cette étape, le transfert de leadership pour ce qui concerne le développement technologique, le développement commercial et le management d’entreprises se complète. SOVAR assure le suivi du dossier selon des formes adaptées à chaque cas. Il peut s’agir de rencontres de suivi, de rencontres de planification, de participation aux conseils d’administration (généralement comme observateur) ou autres.